Chocolate Banana Cake

This was a chocolate banana cake recipe that I kept almost two years ago from a blog I used to enjoy reading, all about camp fire cooking. It somehow got lost amongst the over 300 recipes I currently have that I really need to try, so when Allan asked for a chocolate cake I was delighted to find it again.  I don’t have a camp fire so am just using my oven and lived the camp fire experience vicariously through their great blog.

There is no egg in the recipe which made me look twice, but the resulting cake they posted looked great so I decided to go for it.  It is a really simple cake, with all the ingredients dumped into a bowl and mixed together and baked in a 9 inch buttered tin.

Chocolate Banana Cake

Chocolate Banana Cake

Chocolate Banana Cake
http://firedupcookingsa.com/2011/10/21/campfire-chocolate-banana-cake/

• 3/4 cup of cake flour
• 1/2 cup sugar
• 3 rounded Tbsp cocoa powder
• 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
• 1/4 tsp of salt
• 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
• 1/4 cup cooking oil
• 1/2 cup water
• 1 banana, mashed (this is optional – you can leave this and the syrup out)
• 1 Tbsp syrup (I used maple)
• 1/2 Tbsp cider vinegar

Bake at 180/375 until done…

