Lasagne Cups

I don’t know what it is, but mini/individual sized portions of anything just makes me happy; and thanks to a great blog I follow, My Strawberry Heart, I finally made individual lasagne cups.

Usually I make a cheese sauce from a bechamel to make lasagne, but I decided to give cottage cheese a try.  It was good! And this is from someone who claims to be allergic to cottage cheese.  I still don’t think I could force myself to eat a spoonful of cottage cheese, (too many bad memories of my Mom living on Ryvita crackers and cottage cheese for months of my childhood!) but I will definitely be using it in lasagne again.

A terrible picture, but two hungry puppy dogs and burning your fingers doesn’t make for good photography…

Individual Lasagne Cups

Individual Lasagne Cups

Lasagne Cups

  • Your favourite tomato sauce with meat or vegetables
  • Cheese mix (In a large bowl, combine 1/3 pound cottage cheese,  one egg, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, 1 teaspoon parsley, dash salt and pepper.)
  • Lasagne Sheets

Bring large pot of salted water to boil. Cook pasta sheets 2 minutes less than package directions and drain. Place pasta on greased baking sheet until you are ready for assembly.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 jumbo muffin tins with squares of parchment paper. If they don’t stay in on their own, that’s okay–the pasta will help with that.

Line the edges of the muffin tins with 1 pasta sheet per cup. Pasta sheet will overlap about 2 inches.

Spoon about 1/2 tablespoon of sauce into the bottom of each cup

Next cut 9 pasta sheets into quarters and press one of these pieces of pasta into the bottom on top of the sauce.

Top pasta sheet with a generous tablespoon of sauce and then a generous tablespoon of cheese filling.

Repeat this pasta-sauce-cheese layering one more time being sure to press out any air bubbles.

Top these lasagne cups off with a third piece of pasta, more sauce and the remaining mozzarella cheese.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until everything is hot and bubbly. Serve hot.

