Slow Cooker Apple Butter

I had never heard of Apple Butter until two years ago and when I did, in my mind, it was like garlic butter – butter with apples incorporated into it.

It didn’t seem all that appealing (pun not intended but full responsibility taken…) so I didn’t investigate it any further.

Oh, what a waste of time!!

Apple Butter and I could have had such a great relationship… but I rejected it.

Then I saw a pot of it at a cash crop and wondered how the butter had become so brown.  So, I used mighty google-fu and discovered that Apple Butter is not actually anything to do with butter but a deliciousness all of its own!

Finally Apple Butter and I became friends, with a slight flirtation to more, but we remained friends.

Then I found a way to make it in the slow cooker, and being that my slow cooker is probably the only thing that comes close to the intimacy that pancakes and I share I had to try it.

And man alive…

Slow Cooker Apple Butter

What I imagined as something akin to mere butter (Oh, butter, please forgive me for calling you mere anything! You know I love you deeply! Too deeply…) mixed with apples turned out to be an aromatic apple spread that just rocks the world.

Yesterday, Allan took me out to a cash crop – to cheer me up after my brush with an intruder last night – I joke not.  If it was not for my personal body guard Bob I think I might have just had a heart attack when the man appeared at almost 1am while I was in the kitchen with Bob.  Bob went outside and scared the beejezus out of the man who took off while I screamed blue murder after him.

Allan came down and checked all was sound before tucking me in and staying awake so I could sleep.

I am very blessed with the males I live with!! A perfect husband who protects me in every way and a Bob who I seriously doubt I could have stopped if the eejit had come over the fence.

Hopefully it was a one off; a drunk who got a bit lost. Hopefully!

Anyway back to more interesting and happier things.

I got a huge bag of Empire apples.

They were gorgeous and I was tempted just to polish them and look at them, but my slow cooker is conspiring against me, as is my need to make some Apple Butter.

I prepped the apples and set the cooker before we went to bed and woke to this…

I fully intend to go back next week and get some different varieties of apples to test the difference in apple butter taste… for science’s sake, of course!

Slow Cooker Apple Butter

CROCK POT APPLE BUTTER

  • Approximately 3 lb. apples
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • Dash of salt
  • 3/4 cup water or fresh apple cider

Fill Crock-pot 3/4 full with peeled, cored and sliced apples.

Add the remaining ingredients and stir until evenly mixed.

Cover and cook on low setting overnight or until the butter is of a thick, spreadable consistency.

If apple butter has too much liquid, remove lid and cook on high until thickened. Stir often as butter thickens to prevent scorching.

Store in refrigerator for up to 6 weeks. Freeze for longer storage.

Variation: For a less sweet apple butter, substitute 1 cup honey for the sugar.

To can the apple butter, pack into hot jars leaving 1/4-inch headspace and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

 

