Classic Scones

I remember the first day of “Home Economics” in “Big School”.  It was something I had been looking forward to so much, our first real cooking class and we had all been given a list of ingredients to bring.

To prepare our first dish… a salad.

At the time we were all disgusted, but with hindsight and having had the opportunity to teach kids to cook in a variety of situations, I know now it was to check our knife safety (not skills… just that we weren’t going to stab ourselves or someone else) and also to get us used to the kitchen we would be working in.

I remember though feeling insulted.  How could the teacher imagine I didn’t know how to make a salad at the age of 11?!?

So, it was with great satisfaction we got to the scone making class.

This isn’t the exact recipe, but it is a very close recreation.

We rolled ours out in class, and cut out circles (or something resembling circles…) to bake.  Here I just made wedges, more traditional Scottish and Northern Irish scones than the circular English ones we made.  Same recipe, just a different presentation.

We made pancakes in that class too.  Another story altogether, which involves tidal waves of soapy water jumping all by itself into the batter, being stirred in while we checked that no one had noticed and being cooked in a foam.  And somehow, I developed my obsessive passion for pancakes…

Scones have always had a special place in my heart, too.   I was a civil servant for years and the yell of “trallllllllllieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” at around 10am every morning was welcomed, as it heralded the tea trolley which had scones along with tea and coffee for sale.

And scones always make me feel a bit posh…

I made these this morning for a tea party, which sadly didn’t happen.  But the scones rock.  I am so modest at times it shocks even me…

I couldn’t decide between just butter, raspberry jam or apple butter, so I split the scone and had a bit of each! Win!  Though, as I sat watching the start of the arrival of Hurricane Sandy with the wind blowing really hard and the rain pelting against the window I decided that the more autumnal taste of apple butter was my favourite today.

Scones… I couldn’t decide on raspberry jam or apple butter so I went for both, one on each half!

Classic Plain Scones

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly grease a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter. Mix the egg and milk in a small bowl, and stir into flour mixture until moistened.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead briefly. Roll dough out into a 1/2 inch thick round. Cut into 8 wedges, and place on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown.

Scones, just waiting to be eaten!

