Cream of Broccoli Soup

Soup. Who doesn’t love soup?

Growing up my Mom made “Homemade Soup”. Everyone who I knew had Moms who made “Homemade Soup”.

And it was the same soup.

There were slight variations.  Some Moms used barley and some didn’t.  Some used hard peas and some didn’t.  Some put a boiled spud into the bowl before ladling the soup over.  But in the main it was the same soup.

So when anyone mentioned “Homemade Soup” we all knew exactly what that meant.

The green grocers even sold “Soup Packs” – a tray or bag with a leek, carrot, celery, onion and if it was posh a parsnip.

I still love that “Homemade Soup” – though I haven’t made it in years as Allan would go into caniptions if I was to offer it to him.  Vegetables!!!

Now, though, I have discovered that home made soup can be anything.

And this is one of my favourites.

Because broccoli rocks!

Cream of Broccoli Soup

Cream of Broccoli Soup

Sauté the broccoli florets and thin slices of the top of the stem with thinly sliced onions until just browning.

Meantime make the white sauce, and add water to make the desired consistency.

Add the broccoli, onions, garlic and stock.

Simmer for approx 30 minutes.  (Sometimes I can’t wait and just simmer for 20 minutes…)

Blend until smooth.

Season to taste.

Top with grated cheese (optional)

