Stir Fried Romaine Lettuce

I love my husband dearly.  There is no question about it and there is no time I ever question why I love him so much.

He is very talented, can spot a dangling participle at 100 feet, writes poems, songs and prose beautifully, has a great singing voice, is brilliant at managing our budget, is a great Principal, an amazing ability to resolve conflict, is calm in times of chaos and panic and can make me laugh even when I am crying.

However, he can’t shop.

Even with a list.

I am still sick and it could be a while before I am able to go shopping myself, so he has very kindly taken on that task.

Off he went two days ago with a list, which clearly had no lettuce, tomatoes or peppers listed as we have a plethora already in the fridge.  It did include bread, milk and butter, but he ignored those in favour of two heads of romaine and two of the huge boxes of mixed spring greens, around 20 tomatoes and several peppers.

O_O

The boxes of lettuce, in my experience last about three days before they go all melty and slimy at the bottom, so we are on a timer.

Plus, I had a childhood trauma involving lettuce.  It was when my father declared I was not leaving the table until I swallowed the lettuce I was chewing and trying desperately to swallow but gagging on.  I sat there for about an hour until he left the room and my mom let me spit it out.  I threw up most of that night and since then “naked” lettuce has been a problem for me.  It needs to be literally drowning in dressing.  Naked lettuce and I are not friends.

This was a way of using up a head of romaine as a side dish.  We ate the whole head between us, while ordinarily we wouldn’t eat that much lettuce.

Plus, it was darned delicious!  We both agreed we would be having this again, soon.

So, as it turns out Allan is a great shopper!! I am looking forward to seeing what comes home next time!

The photos aren’t great as it is so hot here I am not cooking until around 9 or 10 at night and the light is rubbish for pictures.  But, seriously, if you have a spare romaine hanging out aimlessly in your fridge, this is a recipe to try!

I kept the chilli low because Allan isn’t into hot food, but you can spice it up as much as you want.   This is pretty good as it wasn’t too hot for Allan or too mild for me.

Stir Fried Romaine Lettuce

Stir Fried Romaine

(allrecipes.com)

• 1 each head romaine lettuce, discard 4-5 outer leaves, rinse dry and coarsely sliced
• 2 tbls. olive oil
• 1 each small red onion, halved then thinly sliced
• 2 tbls. Red or white wine vinegar
• 2 tbls. dijon or your favorite mustard
• 2 tbls. honey
• 1 tsp. red pepper flakes

Heat a large pot or skillet over medium heat , add oil and onion and cook until soft.

Mix vinegar, mustard, honey and pepper flakes and stir into the onions.

Add Romaine lettuce and gently stir or toss with the onions until warm and slightly wilted.

Serve immediately!

