Kiwi Fruit Oven Pancakes

As anyone who has read more than a couple of my posts know, I am completely obsessed with pancakes.  I have no idea why but there it is and I am in therapy for something else so my pancake obsession remains. 🙂

We bought a huge bag of kiwis this past week and after eating them on their own I wanted to use the rest in some sort of recipe.  Imagine my face when I found a recipe for kiwi and pancakes!

As it turns out the kiwis are more a garnish but hey I’ll take it.

Of course, I didn’t stick to the recipe.  Mainly because I don’t have a 10 inch cast iron skillet (yet…) but I reckoned that an 8 inch square cake tin would suffice.  Okay, two of them, after all you can’t expect me to share a pancake!

Even on our wedding anniversary. ❤

However, I forgot that square tins would make square pancakes… corners on a pancake! They tasted great regardless.

 

Kiwi Fruit Oven Pancake

 

Kiwi Fruit Oven Pancakes

(allrecipes.com)
• 2 eggs
• 1/3 cup skim milk
• 1/3 cup flour
• Pinch grated nutmeg
• 2 tablespoons butter
• 3 kiwifruit, peeled and sliced
• 1 tablespoon lemon juice
• 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh mint
• 1 tablespoon powdered sugar (or more to taste)

Heat 10-inch non-stick, oven-safe skillet at 425 degrees 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix together eggs, milk, flour and nutmeg in small bowl until well blended. (A few lumps are OK.)

Remove skillet from oven; melt butter in heated skillet, tilting to coat sides and bottom.

Pour egg batter into pan and bake in upper third of oven at 425 degrees until puffed and golden, 10 to 12 minutes.

Remove from oven and slide pancake onto serving plate.

Toss together kiwifruit, lemon juice and mint, and arrange over pancake. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

