Mini Salsa Bean Burgers

I made these salsa bean burgers the first time when I was cooking supper and realised that I was cooking a meat dish and had forgotten to make something for me to eat.

They were made on the fly and are not my usual bean burger recipe as I used what I could grab from the fridge.  Since then they have been slightly refined, but are still a throw together recipe, whatever is in the fridge goes into them.

And I love to eat them with a dollop of ketchup.

Salsa Bean Burgers

Salsa Bean Burgers

Salsa Bean Burgers

  • 1/2 can of kidney beans
  • 4 heaped tablespoons of salsa
  • 1/4 sliced onion
  • 1/4 diced green pepper
  • salt and pepper to season
  • dash of tabasco sauce
  • breadcrumbs to bind

Sauté the onion and pepper until soft.

Combine all the ingredients and form into mini patties.

Chill in fridge for at least two hours to allow to set.

Heat a tablespoon of oil in a skillet over a medium heat.

Cook burgers until browned on one side and then carefully turn to brown on other, finish in the oven if needed.

