Crispy Bananas Fritters

I got this recipe a long time ago from a friend, and totally forgot about it until today when I was feeling the need for something sweet. I had some bananas and remembered the recipe with a huge dose of nostalgia.  The last time I had banana fritters was when I was at a chinese restaurant with my family back in Northern Ireland many years ago.  They were such a treat and my sister and I used to love them smothered in golden syrup.  Healthy, they weren’t.  But they were good.

The custard powder gives a nice aroma and light yellow tinge to the batter. You can replace the rice flour with all-purpose flour, but the rice flour adds a crispness that will be missing.  I didn’t have rice flour so used all purpose and it worked out well.  The batter was light and crispy and the banana was soft yet whole.

As with all things deep fried I won’t be making these often, but from time to time they will be making an appearance.

I cut the recipe in five and got more than enough batter for one banana cut into six pieces.   I would advise cutting the amounts for the batter as it makes much more than needed.

Crispy Banana Fritters with ice cream

Crispy Banana Fritters with ice cream

Crispy Banana Fritters

  • 5 medium-sized ripe bananas, halved
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons rice flour
  • 1 tablespoon custard powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/4 cup water, or just enough
  • Oil for deep frying

Combine various flours, baking powder and salt in a mixing bowl.

Add in water and combine into batter.

Heat oil in pan or wok over medium flame.

Coat bananas in batter, and deep-fry in hot oil for 3-4 minutes, or until bananas are golden brown.

Drain on paper towels.

