Sheet Pan Apple Pie

As most of us do, I follow and read lots of food blogs.  And yesteday morning this delight popped up in my inbox.  So, despite it being 8am and Allan and I just getting in from something he had to do from 3am I had to try it.  Thank you so much for sharing this!

The pastry is very simple, a basic pastry, which is perfect for when you are half asleep on your feet and longing for bed.  I made the pastry and shoved it in the fridge to cool.  The recipe suggests overnight, I was doubtful it would make it that long…

But I knew that I couldn’t make the pie until after 6 this evening so figured that all day is actually the equivalent of all night and as my day had been topsy turvy so far it was just right that this be topsy turvy too.

As it turns out, thanks to a rather ardous doctor’s appointment, it had all day and two nights and half of another day to chill out in the fridge.

It chillax’ed.

I am about to end it’s fun…

See you once it is in the oven!

The pie is now in the oven.  I have to admit I was a bit worried as I had  6 apples and wasn’t sure that they would cover the whole sheet.

They did.  Not only did they cover it but they thickly covered it.  I started out being mean with the apples and ended up having to go back and add more to the first couple of rows to use them all up!

I also remembered something.  I have a vegetable peeler which I never use.  I just remembered why.

I peeled the top of my finger.  Yep, and then bled over the apple.  Three band aids later and all was okay again.  I stuck with the peeler but prefer my knife.  I never cut myself with that knife.

Of course, now I said that, I am about to take my arm off this evening with it.

The pastry was rolled very thin.  I was a bit worried about that too, but then my Mom has always said since I was about three I was a worrier so it was inevitable.

The recipe calls for about 45 minutes, mine needed 53 this time.  As the original post I ganked the recipe from said, it can be more or less each time.

It is cooling now.  I am thinking of duct taping myself down so I can let it cool.  I am dying to try it so much, it looks amazing!

Well, it was worth the wait.  And believe me, I made up for waiting.  I had to have a couple of slices… It wouldn’t all fit into my storage box.   And it’s apple, so that’s healthy!  We just won’t mention the sugar and butter and jam…

 

Sheet Pan Apple Pie

 

 

Perfectly thin pastry topped with delicious glazed apples

 

Sheet Pan Apple Tart
http://thegarumfactory.net/2011/10/28/lazy-mans-sheet-pan-apple-tart/

Makes 1 15½-by-10½-inch tart

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for sprinkling
  • ½ pound (2 sticks) unsalted cold butter, cut into thin pieces
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten, plus enough ice water to make ½ cup
  • 5 – 7 crisp apples (about 2½ pounds)
  • 1 cup sugar for the glaze, plus extra for sprinkling on the apples
  • ½ cup apricot jam

Put the flour, butter and salt in a bowl. With your fingers, work the butter into the flour until it looks mealy, with some large flecks of butter remaining.

Pour the egg-ice water mixture into the bowl and quickly knead the dough until it comes together. Only a minute or two – you don’t want the butter to melt.

It will be soft, sticky, and, though gathered together, a little rough looking.

Sprinkle the dough with a little flour and pat into a rectangle about 1 inch thick. Wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour, or overnight.

Divide the pastry in half (there will be enough for two tarts; you can freeze one half for later).

Roll out the pastry to a rectangle, approximately 11 by 16 inches, using a 15½-by-10½-inch baking sheet as a template.

Transfer the dough to the baking sheet and let it relax.

If your dough isn’t perfectly rectangular just patch with bits and pieces as necessary, then trim the edges to fit the pan with a little going slightly up the sides.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate again.

Peel the apples and cut into quarters.

Remove the cores and use to make a glaze as follows: Combine 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water with the cores. Stir at first to dissolve the sugar, then simmer to a thick syrup. Strain and reserve. (Or use honey or good apricot jam, thinned, for a glaze – I followed the suggestion of Garum Factory and used apricot jam.)

Slice the apples as thinly as possible.

Arrange the slices over the pastry in rows, overlapping them like cards in solitaire.

At this point the tart can be covered with plastic wrap and refrigerated for up to 8 hours. (It’s okay if the apples darken.)

Preheat the oven to 375°F.

Sprinkle sugar generously over the apples and bake until they are beautifully browned and crisp, about 45 minutes.

Again here I used Garum Factories suggestion and about ¾ of the way through the cooking brushed a thin layer of glaze over the tart.

After the tart has finished allow it to cool on a rack.  (This was the hardest bit for me…).

Just before serving, reheat the glaze.

Slide the tart from the pan onto a cutting board.

Paint the apples with the warmed glaze. Slice and serve.