Tomato Fritters

Before I begin can I mention that tomatoes and I have bit of a love hate relationship.  My mom used to make tomato sandwiches.  The idea of which makes me want to run away.  Yet, my grandmother used to slice greenish ones onto toast and I couldn’t get enough.

I love ketchup, but hate tomato soup.

Ask me to eat a raw tomato on its own and I look at you as though you are crazy (though I have done that with jalepenos without blinking an eyelid) yet, if there are no tomatoes in a salad sandwich (and I mean a real British sandwich) and I wonder if you are crazy.

So these should and could have been a challenge to me, but they weren’t.  They were perfect. So, speaking as a tomato lover and hater at the same time, they should please most people.

I can’t go into stores right now, which is one of the most difficult of the symtoms, because while I am not into clothes shopping at all (Lucky Allan, huh?!) I always loved grocery shopping.  Choosing what was seasonal and what would allow me to create something delicious in the kitchen.

So, at the moment Allan is going grocery shopping for us, with a list I make, trying to imagine what would be good.

I asked him to buy a few tomatoes and he chose plum tomatoes, which I love, and so this recipe, which I got recently from Current Vintage sprang to mind.

There wasn’t much juice in the tomatoes so I had to add some water, which wasn’t ideal, but man oh man! These are so good…  Thank you Current Vintage.

Light and crunchy, hot and delicious Tomato Fritters

Tomato Fritters
http://current-vintage.com/2011/09/02/santorini-tomato-fritters/

Makes about 12 fritters
. 2 pounds red tomatoes, diced
. 1 cup yellow onion, finely diced
. 3 tablespoons fresh mint, chopped
. 2 cups all purpose flour
. 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
. salt and freshly ground black pepper
. about an inch of grapeseed oil to fry the fritters in (grapeseed oil doesn’t smoke at high temp)

Dice the tomatoes and put them in a colander over a bowl to drain (save the liquid).  Save the liquid and add it back as needed because we don’t know how juicy any tomato is.

In a large bowl, put the tomatoes, mint, onion and half the flour. Make a slurry with the rest of the flour and the baking powder.(add about 1/2 cup of the reserved tomato juice).

Add the slurry to the mixture. The mix will be about the consistency of heavy batter.

In a sauté pan put about one inch of oil and heat.

When hot, spoon the tomato mixture into the oil and cook until golden. Turn and repeat on the other side. The fritters should be cooked all the way through or they will be too heavy. Crispy and Light!

Drain on paper towels and spritz with fresh lemon juice or serve with Greek yoghurt.

Eat hot!

Perfect eaten just as they come out of the pan!

