Mom’s “Melting Moments” Cookies

These cookies are one of the first cookies I ever made by myself. 

They were a recipe my Mom had written in blue ink on the yellow pages of her recipe book.  The book was stained with vanilla essence, curry splashes, melted chocolate and full of love and memories. 

Each recipe was on a page of it’s own, except the cookies, and every recipe that had been given to her was noted with the name of the person who had given her the recipe or the magazine she had collected the recipe from, and in brackets a note she made about each recipe.

These were so simple, and a great way to use up the egg yolks from the pavlovas we all loved.  Pavlova was my speciality for a while, I must make one soon again.  They always make me think of my mom.  

Melting Moments.  They taste as they sound.  They melt in your mouth and last just for just a moment.  They are almost like light shortbread.

I wonder how they would be dipped in chocolate…

You have to watch them in the oven.  They need to just turn the lightest of gold.  They will still be soft when you take them out of the oven, and will firm up as they cool.

Mom’s Melting Moment Cookies

  • 4oz/ ½ cup butter
  • 3oz/ ½ cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 5 oz/ 1 cup SR Flour

Cream butter and sugar.

Add egg yolk.

Mix in flour.

Roll into small balls, flatten slightly with a fork.

Bake in preheated oven at 370 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes.

Let cool on wire rack.  They will be soft when come out of oven, and will firm up as they cool.