Moist Chocolate Mayo Cake

This is seriously the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever found.  It is a really moist cake with a great crumb and keeps well.  However, there is a problem for Allan with it.  He dislikes mayonnaise.

The first time I made this cake for Allan it was his birthday a couple of years ago.  We had a friend over and I had told Sherri the “secret” ingredient.  She reckoned it was best not to share that information with Allan.

But watching him eat it with such obvious enjoyment and relish, I thought it was safe to share my wonderful secret ingredient.

I remember his face.

He was in his own little world of chocolate cake eating heaven.  I asked if he could guess what was in the cake.  He heard me through a haze of chocolate induced joy and shook his head before taking another bite.

“MAYONNAISE!”  I happily announced.

Sherri shook her head sadly and Allan looked at me mid swallow.

His eyes got round.  His fork hit the plate and he declared that he was full already.

Full??

Half way through a slice of chocolate cake?

Then I realised one of the many reasons Sherri is smarter than me.

You don’t tell your husband that there is mayonnaise in the chocolate cake, despite his obvious enjoyment of it.  Ever.

Of course, I have never made this recipe again.

Never.

Well, maybe I still do.  Just from time to time.

It makes great cupcakes too.

(Allan, if you are reading this, these cupcakes and cakes were for the cake walk.  I make you a different chocolate cake now!)

Moist Chocolate Cake

2 cups flour
2/3 cup cocoa
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
3 eggs
1 2/3 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup mayonnaise
1 1/3 cups water

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Grease and flour 2 – 9″ round cake pans.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder.

Mix well and set aside.

Beat together eggs, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl for 3 minutes, using the high speed of an electric mixer. Mixture should be smooth and creamy. Reduce speed to low and beat in mayonnaise until blended.

Add flour mixture in batches, alternating with water, in 4 equal additions (1/4 of the flour, then 1/4 of the water etc). Pour the batter into the prepared cake pans.
Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the center of the cake springs back when lightly touched or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake is clean when removed.

Cool in pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from the pans and allow to cool completely before frosting with your favorite frosting.

