Vinegar Pie

Now we are settled into our new home I have been doing a lot of reading. We don’t have TV here (at least for now) and that is probably no bad thing. I am averaging a book a day, and today was reading about Pretty Boy Floyd, a work of fiction based on fact, which isn’t really my preferred genre, but his penchant for vinegar pie had me intrigued.

And being that when something has a weird name I seem to need to make it, it was sort of inevitable that I would have to try vinegar pie…

That said, I knew that there was no way on earth I could get Allan to eat something called Vinegar Pie, after the debacle with the Chocolate Mayo Cake, which he loved until he heard that there was mayonnaise in it.  So, I just forgot to mention the name until he had tasted it.

The instructions are as I got the recipe.  It screams at the baker in me who believes in separate bowls and proper order, but I went with it as it is suggested.  It was so easy to make, and I kept mixing the filling from the time I set the oven until it was heated to 400 degrees which turned the ingredients into a really creamy filling.

The crust didn’t look pretty before going into the oven, and being rubbish at making crusts look pretty in the first place that says a lot.  But while it was baking all I could think of was my grandmother, not because of the recipe, but the smell as it was baking was just so good.  I couldn’t wait to try it, but I did as Allan was out at a meeting and I had to!! 🙂

Vinegar Pie

Vinegar Pie

The crust isn’t one I would rush to make again, but the filling was good.  It was very similar to Sugar Pie.

Old Style Vinegar Pie

Pie Crust:

1 1/3 cups flour
Dash Salt
1/3 cups vegetable oil
3 tbsp milk

Filling:

1/4 cups butter
2 eggs
1/2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tspn nutmeg
3 tbsp vinegar (any kind)

This is a really old, really easy way to make a pie crust. It does not make the best crust out there, but it is perfectly serviceable and easy to clean up from. First, assemble all of your  crust ingredients, and dump all of your flour in the pan. Create a well in it, and dump every thing else in the well.

Mix the crust ingredients right in the pan. That’s right – why mess up a clean mixing bowl when you have a perfectly good vessel right here? Using a fork, begin by gently stirring the ingredients until the flour begins to absorb the liquids. Keep stirring until the fork is not longer effective, then dig right in there with your hand. You should be able to scrape up all the excess flour with your fingers, and keep mixing until you are able to form a greasy ball of dough.

Press the crust out to the edges of the pan. Using your clean hands and fingers, slowly press the dough out to the edges of the pan. It will take a little while to do this without tearing the dough, so be patient. Eventually, your crust will come to just below the edge of the tin. Now set the crust aside, set your oven to bake at 400 degrees, and continue to the next step.
Now you will make the filling. You will need a medium sized mixing bowel, a standard hand mixer, and a rubber spatula. I have never been one for caring what order different ingredients are added in a formula, so my advice here is to just dump it all in the bowl and get mixing.
Mix the filling using a standard hand mixer, on high, until well blended. Scrape the bowl once with a rubber spatula and then blend for a few more minutes. Pour into the pie crust.
Bake the pie for 40 minutes at 400 degrees.
Allow to cool before serving.
Recipe: http://www.instructables.com/id/Vinegar-Pie
