Blueberry Granita with Honey

Since moving from Allan’s last work location to this there seems to be something in the air, and though I am far from complaining I have been writing over 20K words a day, which is a bit tiring, so my time in the kitchen has been vastly reduced.  However, when I picked some blueberries on the daily walk with the pups I had to try this great recipe.  As for the walk, Bob turns into Tigger (even more than usual) and goes bush-whacking and hop, skips and jumps twice the distance that Ex walks as she gives her best Eeyore impression and poddles along as if she is being punished when really she would rather just stay home and play with her toy pony (yes, our little girl has a pony!).  I swear you can hear her say “I was all comfortable at home and then she made me come outside and now she is making me walk all this way just to get back to where I already was… I used to be so happy…life is so unfair.”

This recipe came from a blog that has something for everyone and really could drive me to drink, in a very good way!! The lovely couple who write it, have so many wonderful alcoholic concoctions that it is as well Allan works on dry reserves…

I have a huge ice cream container full of blueberries in the fridge that I have to use soon… *searching for more blueberry recipes*

Rufus' Blueberry Granita with Honey

Rufus’ Blueberry Granita with Honey

Blackberry Granita
(http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/blackberry-granita-with-honey/)

  • 4 cups blackberries
  • 2/3 cups simple syrup
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 2 tbsp honey

In a blender or food processor, puree berries, lemon juice and simple syrup. Pour through a wire mesh strainer held over an 8-inch pan. You may need to do this in batches. Using a spoon, strain juice into the pan. Discard seeds. Stir honey into the strained juice. Cover with foil and place in freezer. To serve scoop into dessert bowls.

