Sweetcorn Egg Drop Soup

Allan and I had our first real disagreement over corn soup.  I made some, he said he loved it and then a year later let it slip while we were out with friends that he really hated it.  When he said, “Oh no! That sounds as bad as Alison’s corn soup!” everyone’s head whipped to me.  So, now when he says he likes something I always ask twice, then ask if he “corn soup likes” it.  He will never live that down and he accepts that.

This is not that corn soup.  Though that corn soup is actually great.  This is an egg drop corn soup.  It is so simple and fast that it can be made in less time than it takes to open a can.  And it tastes better!

Though, I might have to forgive the “great corn soup debacle” as while eating this I choked on a kernel of corn and Allan saved my life…

Sweetcorn Egg Drop Soup

Sweetcorn Egg Drop Soup

Sweetcorn Egg Drop Soup
(http://www.homemade-chinese-soups.com/egg-drop-soup-recipe-01.html)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup fresh sweet corn – I used frozen O_O
  • 2 cups chicken soup stock -I used vegetable stock
  • 2 tablespoon cornstarch mixture
  • Seasonings
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 teaspoon sugar

Remove the corn kernels from the cob and wash thoroughly

Bring the soup stock to a boil in a pot

Add the corn, salt, and sugar

Simmer till the corn is cooked and soft

Add the cornstarch mixture to thicken the soup

Beat the eggs lightly

Lower the heat and do the egg drop

Give the soup a few quick gentle stirs to spread out the egg flowers

Remove from heat

Serve with pepper

