Irish Soda Bread

Most people say that Irish Soda Bread has raisins in it.  Well, maybe in your family it does, but in mine there was nary a raisin in any soda bread.  And never did I see a family recipe or a bakery that put raisins into soda bread.  And being Norn Irish I figure I have a fair notion of what is and isn’t authentic.

The raisins were kept for bannock and bram brack.

Soda Bread was raisin free and either baked as a round loaf or in soda farls.  Farls were my favourite, you split them and toasted them and slathered them in way too much butter and wiped the drips of butter from your chin with your sleeve.  Unless my mom was around, in which case we would use a napkin.

Or the farls were split and fried until golden then served as part of an Ulster Fry for breakfast.

Oh the memories!

There is a feast this weekend here, in memory of an elder who passed many moons ago, and it lasts from Friday evening to Sunday evening and traditional food is brought by everyone.

So, I decided to go traditional Irish and made this…

Irish Soda Bread

Irish Soda Bread

Sadly not my grandmother’s recipe as I lost all of her recipe in the tragedy of 2008 when my laptop died taking all my recipes with it.   Yes, I learned to backup to an external hard drive.  No, I don’t back up as much as I should still.

I made it in a loaf tin because that made it easier to slice for the feast.

Sliced and ready to be slathered!

Sliced and ready to be slathered!

Irish Soda Bread

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 lightly beaten egg
  • 2 cups buttermilk (if like me you can’t get real buttermilk add a splash of white vinegar to your milk and allow to stand for a few minutes before you use it)
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
Combine flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and baking soda. Blend egg and buttermilk together, and add all at once to the flour mixture. Mix just until moistened. Stir in butter. Pour into prepared pan.  Let sit for a few minutes while you tidy up and then bake.
Bake for 65 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the bread comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack. Wrap in foil for several hours, or overnight, for best flavour.
