Pasta with Peas

Standing staring into the fridge last night I was at a loss what to make for supper.  I had made a ham pasta bake for Allan, but the ham part ruled it out for me.

Then I remembered this little gem. Of course, I didn’t have shells, but spaghetti was just fine and chasing peas around a plate is part of the fun.

“I eat my peas with honey,

I’ve done it all my life!

It makes the peas taste funny,

But it keeps them on my knife!”

Spike Milligan

(There is no honey in this recipe, just in case you wonder.)

Pasta with Peas

Pasta with Peas

Pasta with Peas

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2007/12/diane-seed-pasta-with-peas-recipe.html

  • 3/4 stick butter
  • 1 onion
  • 1 pound shell pasta
  • 4 cups frozen peas
  • 6 basil leaves
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Melt the butter in a large pan over medium heat. Toss in the onion and cook until slightly wilted.

Plunge the shells in the boiling water. Cook according to package instructions. With five minutes left, add the peas to the onions, and add a tablespoon of the cooking liquid.

When the pasta is done, toss with the butter and onions over medium high heat.

Sprinkle in the chopped basil, shred some cheese, and season with salt and pepper.

