Taco Grilled Cheese

I have a confession.  I really don’t like grilled cheese sandwiches.

Okay, just throw me out of Canada, take away my rights to everything and even burn me at the stake.

But seriously… they just weren’t part of my childhood, so I don’t have that emotional connection.

However, throw something other than just cheese into the mix and you might have my attention.

Hot Apple Pie Sandwiches

Grilled Cheese and Scallion

Grilled Cheese, onion, red pepper and spinach

Grilled Cheese Experiments

And now…

Taco Grilled Cheese!

And all because I had left over vegetarian taco sauce and wasn’t sure what to do with it.  And yes, I did consider making another taco!

Taco Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Taco Grilled Cheese Sandwich

 

Taco Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  • Bread
  • Butter
  • Sliced or grated cheese
  • Left over taco meat or vegetarian taco sauce

Butter one side of each slice of bread.

Set one slice, butter side down, into heated skillet and top with cheese and taco sauce, then more cheese.  Top with second slice of bread, butter side up.

Sautee over medium heat until bread is golden then flip carefully and repeat.

