Slow Cooker Berry Chocolate Pudding

I love my slow cooker and I love fruit desserts.  So this was a definite maker!

I didn’t have boysenberries, the only berries here are frozen mixed berries, but I figured that wouldn’t matter.  And, it was the perfect recipe to use one of the two bars of 80% dark chocolate I had brought to the rez with us.  The idea of putting tea towels over the top under the lid was new to me, but it made sense thinking of the condensation.  In clarification, the towels are laid over the time of the slow cooker and held in place with the lid, so that it doesn’t touch the pudding.

This was really chocolately, a little too much for me actually, so next time I will be cutting back on the cocoa.  It needed the vanilla ice cream to cut through the chocolate.  Timing wise, it took just on the 2 1/2 hours in my slow cooker.

The pudding was cakey and the crumb was really moist and perfection.  It always amazes me when I make a cake or pudding like this in the slow cooker, even though I have done it before every time it just amazes me.  The slow cooker is definitely one of my favourite kitchen items.

Slow Cooker Self Saucing Chocolate Berry Pudding

Slow Cooker Self Saucing Chocolate Berry Pudding

Crock Pot Boysenberry Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding

(acrockcook.com)

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (plain)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 cups boysenberries (fresh or defrosted from frozen)
  • 100g dark chocolate (broken into small pieces)
  • ¼ cup milk
  • ½ teaspoons vanilla
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1½ cups hot water

Melt the butter.

Sift the 1 cup of brown sugar, 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder, flour and baking powder into a large bowl.

Whisk in the milk, melted butter and vanilla. Then gently mix through the berries and the chocolate.

Spread this batter evenly over the bottom of the crock pot.

Mix together the ¼ cup cocoa powder and the brown sugar. Sprinkle this on top of the batter – yes it does seem a lot.

Gently pour the hot water over the top – DO NOT stir!

Cover with a double thickness of tea towel before putting the lid on the crock pot. Pull the tea towel tight so it does not touch the cake mix. This is to prevent condensation dripping onto the cake.

Cook on HIGH for 2½ to 3 hours. Check it at about 1½ hours if your slow cooker runs hot.

To check if cooked, insert a skewer into the middle of the cake to about an inch down and if it comes out clean it’s done.

Scoop out with a spoon and be sure to get some of the sticky sauce from the bottom.

Serve with a large dollop of pouring cream for a special “comfort food” dessert.

