Peppers, Onions and Sausage (or Pineapple)

I went through a period a few years ago were all I wanted to eat was red onion, sweet pepper and spinach sautéed and eaten on toasted, thick slices of crusty bread.  I was addicted and just couldn’t get enough.

This quick lunch was based on that, though sadly without the spinach.  I sautéed some onion and sweet peppers and served it with sausage for Allan and pineapple for me.  I seasoned it with celery salt and some chinese five spice and served it with rice.

Amounts depend on how hungry you are! I used one onion, one green pepper and one red pepper for two healthy sized portions.

So simple and so good.

Onions, peppers and sausage

Onions, peppers and sausage

The sausage was precooked and then reheated to give it a nice crispy edge, and the pineapple was caramelised in the pan.

Onion, peppers and pineapple

Onion, peppers and pineapple

 

