Muffin Tin Pineapple Upside Down Cake

I know, being from Ireland, that it would be expected that I would be posting something like cabbage and corned beef today, but to be honest St. Patrick’s Day was never really celebrated where I came from.  There was a big parade in Dublin, but the last St. Patrick’s Day I actually spent in Ireland I went out with a friend for dinner, we decided to go to a Thai restaurant in Belfast and spent a good ten minutes trying to work out why there were six American lads wearing big green hats and shamrocks before we realised that it was St. Patrick’s Day.  And it was nothing to do with religion as one of us is Protestant and the other is Catholic.  It is just not an event.

I have been seeing a lot of “Irish Car Bomb” recipes and I always cringe when I see that.  I guess that having had family and friends blown up in actual car bombs makes it hard to think of it as a cute name for a shot or cupcake or whatever.  I hear “Irish Car Bomb” and have visions that would put you off eating anything for a month.

So, this is today’s post, nothing Irish, nothing to do with blood and guts or terrorism glorified as a cute name, just a retro dessert.

I have posted a recipe for a Pineapple Upside Down Cake before, and it is a really good recipe, one I use as often as I can.  But I have a thing for individual sized anythings, so when I found this recipe I had to try it, too.

Sadly, my muffin tin was too small for a whole ring of pineapple so I had to cut my rings up, but still… INDIVIDUAL Pineapple Upside Down Cakes?!! 🙂

There was no vanilla or cinnamon called for in this recipe and it actually ended up being too sweet for me, something I thought would never happen.  I still love the idea of the individual cakes but I would stick with the recipe I posted before, Pineapple Upside Down Cake.

Muffin Tin Pineapple Upside  Down Cake

Muffin Tin Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Muffin Tin Upside Down Cake

Cake:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 4 Tbsp pineapple juice
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 6 pineapple rings
  • 6 maraschino cherries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl combine eggs, sugar, and pineapple juice. Using a hand mixer, beat for 2 minutes.

In a small bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder.

Add flour mixture to egg mixture and beat another 2 minutes.

In a small saucepan, melt together butter and brown sugar over low heat. Stir frequently until well combined.

Spray jumbo muffin pan with non-stick spray. Then spoon brown sugar mixture evenly into the bottom of each section. (Approx. 1 Tbsp. plus 1 tsp. each.)

Place a pineapple ring into each section, pressing gently to fit. Then add a cherry to the center of each ring. NOTE: If you only have a standard sized muffin tin, try using pineapple tidbits or trim the rings to fit.

Pour batter, evenly divided, into each section. (Approx. 1/3 cup each.)

Bake for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, then loosen with a butter knife along the edges.

Place a piece of waxed paper or a cookie sheet on the counter, to catch any drips. Then invert the muffin tin onto a wire rack. Enjoy!

http://www.thriftyfun.com/Muffin-Tin-Pineapple-Upside-Down-Cake-Recipes.html

