Second Day Stuffing Bites

This is a recipe I have been trying to make for some time.  But I could never seem to have any left over stuffing, despite the fact that I make huge amounts and there are always leftovers.  It was more a case of that when I opened the fridge the next day in the morning the stuffing called to me, tempted me, led me astray and I would give in to it’s siren call.  Cold stuffing rocks…

But finally I managed to contain myself, and this was the result…

I only used one egg and one tablespoon of milk with 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, which was plenty for the half loaf tin of stuffing I used.  Also, I couldn’t get walnuts to make the cranberry pesto, so I had to just use cranberry sauce.  But when I can get them…

Second Day Stuffing Bites

Second Day Stuffing Bites

Second Day Stuffing Bites

  • Leftover stuffing
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons milk
  • 1 cup seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1 cup cranberry sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • Oil, for frying

Preheat oil to 350 degrees F.

Cut leftover stuffing into bite-sized cubes and set aside. In a small bowl whisk eggs and milk. Coat each stuffing bite with this egg wash, then dredge in the bread crumbs until fully coated and set aside. In a food processor blend cranberry sauce, pepper and walnuts and set aside.

Once oil is at temperature fry each piece of stuffing until golden brown about 4 minutes. Drain on a paper towel and serve with cranberry pesto

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sunny-anderson/second-day-fried-stuffing-bites-with-cranberry-sauce-pesto-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

