Fruit Tart with Pastry Cream for Pi Day

To make this Pi Day Fruit Tart I used Vinegar Pie Crust and Pastry Cream.  I wanted to make mini tarts because they are cute and because I can make just a few, rather than a whole tart which would never get eaten.

My only problem was a lack of a rolling pin and baking beans, but with the use of a jar I rolled out the pastry, though with hindsight I really needed to roll it even thinner.  I blind baked the shells and filled them with the pastry cream I had made earlier.  Then decorated with some defrosted frozen fruit.  I would have liked to have had some apricot jam to use to glaze the tarts but I didn’t have any and so I didn’t glaze, but that is purely decorative and these tasted just great as they were.

Fruit Tart with Pastry Cream

Fruit Tart with Pastry Cream

Fruit Tart with Pastry Cream

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Let pastry stand at room temperature for 20 minutes.

On very lightly floured surface, roll out pastry to 1/8 inch (3 mm) thickness; cut to size and put into muffin tin to bake.

Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Prick pastry bottom with fork; line with parchment paper and weigh down with pie weights or dried beans.

Bake in centre of oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until edge just starts to turn a golden and bottom is starting to cook.

Remove weights and paper; bake for 10 to 15 minutes longer or until golden.

Allow to cool.

Whisk pastry cream lightly to loosen up.

Fill pastry shells and smooth top.

Decorate with fruit.

