Vinegar Pie Crust

Finding the perfect pie crust is an ongoing quest for me.   I have several crust recipes that I love, but I just seem to find it impossible to leave the quest.  And when I read this recipe on one of my favourite blogs, The Wednesday Baker, I knew I had to try it.  It makes a lot of pie crust which is wonderful as you can refrigerate or freeze some of it to use another time.  That means fast pie next time. Win!

I actually got this recipe way back in April 2011, http://thewednesdaybaker.blogspot.ca/2011/04/vinegar-pie-crust.html, and somehow it got lost amongst the roughly 417 recipes I have on my list (I know, it’s obsessive…), but when I decided to make mini pot pies this morning it came to mind somehow, and I am very glad it did.  Thanks, Andi.

It comes together really quickly and makes a really rich crust.  I did change the called for shortening to butter.  Because I can’t help it.  Butter just calls to me.

It stores really well in the fridge for a couple of days and in the freezer for longer.  Just make sure to wrap it well!  Having pie crust waiting for you in the fridge allows for really fast suppers, finger foods for visitors and pies just because.

I used this crust to make Mini Quiches, Mini Bolognese Pies and French Fruit Tarts with Pastry Cream and it worked well for all of them.

Vinegar Pie Crust chilling out in the fridge

Vinegar Pie Crust chilling out in the fridge

Vinegar Pie Crust
Marjorie Standish Keep Cooking – The Maine Way
Copyright 1973

This makes 4 single pie crust or 2 double crusted pies or lots of mini pies and quiches

• 4 cups sifted flour
• 1 tbsp sugar
• 2 tsp salt
• 1 3/4 cups of vegetable shortening (I changed this to cold butter.  I know! I can’t help myself.)
• 1/2 cup cold water
• 1 tbsp vinegar
• 1 egg

In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in the shortening.

In a small bowl combine the cold water, vinegar and egg and mix.

Then add this to the flour mixture and combine.

If you are not going to be using all, divide the dough and wrap well and place in refrigerator or in the freezer.

The Wednesday Baker Blog

