Corn on the Cob Four Ways!

Personally, once the corn season comes in Ontario I feel it is my duty to ensure that the farmers who worked so hard feel appreciated, and the best way of doing that, in my opinion, is to eat as much of it as humanly possible.  I even tried to grow some of my own this past summer, but the raccoon who lived in the area decided he was going to show his appreciation to me in the same way so before it was even ready to pick I would find cobs stripped of their kernels strewn around the deck.  Even on the patio table, which I found to be just a little bit cheeky.

I love it grilled, and Allan (who won’t eat it!) is the grill master in our family and what he does to corn (and asparagus!) can’t be described.  It is just heavenly and all it needs is a healthy appetite, and a touch of butter if you are feeling indulgent.

Right now, though, it is most definitely not corn season, but knowing my love of it Allan got me four cobs, already stripped of their husks, so I decided to experiment with toppings, and this is the result.

I boiled the cobs, until just tender, then seared them in the pan to caramelise the sugars.  I would have oven roasted them as I did in Garlic Buttered Corn on the Cob, but they were already shucked.

Corn on the Cob - four ways.

Corn on the Cob – four ways.

From back to front the toppings are:

Pesto, parmesan cheese and melted butter.

Curry powder and butter.

Mayonnaise, chilli and parmesan cheese.

Cinnamon, granulated sugar and melted butter.

These are the four toppings I used, and I found the three really good, the curry one was disappointing, but I plan on trying it with mayonnaise next time.

