Spicy Bean Burger

I got a comment, a while ago now, which changed my approach to my posts.  I used to write wee stories, but the comment said that no one cared about the rambling and just cut to the recipe.  Now, that should have just been something I shrugged off, but I didn’t.  I stopped with the rambling.

I schedule my posts about a fortnight ahead, so when this is posted it will be a fortnight ago, but it was just before I wrote this that I got a comment on a post, and it was nothing to do with the recipe (which admittedly wasn’t a recipe as much as a suggestion) that made me rethink.  I do spend a lot of time trying to please everyone, and I can’t.

So, I made a decision, I am back to rambling when I choose to.  But, in an attempt to please everyone, I will post the recipe first and the rambling at the end, so no one need ever read it. 🙂

These bean burgers are something that brings me back to a period in my life when I was trying to become an adult.  To assert my independence and to make choices for myself. This recipe is one that is really close to my heart, again a suggestion or guide more than a concrete recipe.  I was early teens and The Smiths were the big thing.  My surname being “Smith” was pretty cool, though I much preferred my friend’s surname of “Taylor”, for reasons that I later explain if you care to read.

Before I post the picture of the burger that I did indeed eat all of last evening, I should point out that there are several foods I prefer not to eat in polite company, fajitas join burgers in this category, and the following picture should make the reason all too clear… (unlike my face while eating the burger…)

Spicy bean burger... with cheese, onion, pineapple and every condiment known to mankind and a few more besides...

Spicy bean burger… with cheese, onion, pineapple and every condiment known to mankind and a few more besides…

The fact that I load so much into my burger is not an indicator that it needs all of the additions, as my post when I made Mini Spicy Bean Balls, which were adorned with only cheese, sautéed onion and ketchup attests, but instead is an addiction.  Blame it on my Happy Days habit as a child on Saturday mornings.

Spicy Bean Burgers

  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 egg
  • 1 finely diced green pepper
  • 1 small finely diced carrot
  • 1 finely diced onion
  • breadcrumbs to make the right consistency to form burgers
  • salt
  • pepper
  • chilli powder to taste
  • paprika
  • garlic
  • onion powder

If desired, lightly sauté the onion, carrot and pepper until onion is translucent and carrot and pepper tender.

Slightly mash the beans in a bowl, add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

Form burgers and set in fridge to chill on wax paper for at least an hour.

If desired, brown lightly in the pan before cooking through in an oven preheated to 350 degrees for fifteen minutes.

These freeze well, and this recipe makes between six and eight burgers, depending on your tastes.

My friends and I didn’t have jealousy over music, or being teenage girls more importantly the musicians. Karuna was madly in love with Johnny Marr from The Smiths.  She was the one who went to their concert and managed to grab the stem (yes, just the stem) of a gladiola which Morrissey was at that time wont to wave around in his typical morose fashion and then throw soulfully into the audience as he moaned the words of sadness, depression and melancholia that were demanded.

Siobhan was set on Simon Le Bon, the lead singer of Duran Duran,  while I, on the other hand, was planning my wedding to John Taylor, the bassist of Duran Duran.  I did console myself when I sometimes doubted that we would ever meet, with the thought that I was probably too young for him.  Then, several years later, he married Amanda De Cadenet… who was a year or two younger than me, ruining that illusion.

But my teenage angst aside; The Smiths had a song, “Meat is Murder”, so you can imagine the animal rights fervour that swept the insular, all girls school that I attended.

Vegetarianism was in.  Meat was Murder!!

Which is difficult when your grandfather is a beef and arable farmer…

My mother phsawed my attempts to give up meat as a fad, but she had to admit defeat almost a year later when I was still determined.  So, the one and only night that my father ever barbecued (he really never did as he dislikes eating outside) and I was forced to eat a steak, it was the death knell of my meat eating life as I cut into it and blood quite literally hit me in the eye.

The next day I was officially vegetarian.

Vegetarianism was pretty new, especially in Northern Ireland, so eating out became an issue for our family as my father would complain about having to pay the same prices as he did for a meat based dish for a few boiled vegetables thrown onto a plate.

But there was a burger chain.  They served Spicy Bean Burgers as well as their King and other meat burgers.  My mother, in desperation, one day went in to ask if she could buy the bean burgers frozen to take home in large quantities. I should mention I have the best mother in the world.

I decided that it had to be pretty easy to figure out how to make them, and so this recipe, which changes depending on what I have in the fridge.  But one thing I never change, it has to be eaten with ketchup, because that takes me back in time and nostalgia rocks.

Anyone who reads this far… John and Amanda didn’t last, but instead both moved on to their long term partners and seem to be very happy and I met the man I never dared dream of, so all worked out okay in the end!  🙂

