Microwave Steamed Pudding

When I found this recipe I had to try it, just to see how badly it would fail, because there is no way on earth you can make a steamed pudding in the microwave and only cook it for a few minutes!!  I come from a family were every Sunday we had a steamed treacle pudding with custard as pudding after Sunday dinner, so if anyone is qualified to judge steamed puddings I reckon I am up there.

It did call for margarine, but being me, I had to use butter instead.

It also suggested a pint size pyrex jug which I translated as a mug… thankfully I was watching and when I realised just how daft I was I scooped some of the batter out into another mug to make two puddings.

This was not a steamed pudding, but it was a pretty good quick variation on the theme and I reckon if I had made some custard to go with it that it would have been better as it was slightly dry.  But that could be remedied with a few seconds less in the microwave.  It isn’t something I would serve to guests, but if we wanted a quick fix of hot jammy cake it is something I would make again, but next time with custard!

Microwave Steamed Pudding

Microwave Steamed Pudding

Microwave Steamed Pudding

  • 28 grams/1oz/2 tablespoons butter
  • 28 grams/1oz/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 56 grams/2oz/1/2 cup flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons of syrup (or jam, or lemon curd)

Place the jam in the bottom of a small microwave dish/basin – it was suggested to use a 1 pint Pyrex jug.

Beat all the other ingredients together until they are smooth.

Spoon the pudding mix over the jam.

Cover the dish with a microwaveable lid or cling film (pierce it).

Place in your microwave and cook on medium power for 2½ – 3 minutes.

Leave to stand for 3 minutes before turning out into a bowl.

http://earner.hubpages.com/hub/Quick_and_Easy_Microwave_Steamed_Sponge_Pudding

 

