Spicy Stir Fried Broccoli

I really love broccoli and for the past couple of weeks have been trying to get it onto the table every Sunday.  I was alone for a week while Allan was at a conference and had a head of broccoli all to myself and was going to roast it with lemon, as I posted in Ina Graten’s Roast Broccoli with Lemon, but decided to spice it up a bit when I had the opportunity.

The amounts are my taste, and it is not something I would ever be able to induce Allan to try as he isn’t into spicy food… or vegetables if it comes to that.  I decided to blanch the broccoli so that I could get it in and out of the hot wok really quickly, while still getting a bit of colour on the florets.

Spicy Stir Fried Broccoli

Spicy Stir Fried Broccoli

Spicy Stir Fried Broccoli

  • Bunch of four heads of broccoli
  • 4 dried red chillis (to taste)
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil (to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon szechuan peppercorns (to taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (to taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice

Wash broccoli, chop into florets, blanch in boiling water, and drain.

Chop dried chilies into 1/2-cm segments.

Heat empty wok over highest heat. Add oil and swirl to heat through. Add chilies and peppercorns and toss briefly until fragrant but not burned.

Add broccoli and stir briefly. Add salt and five spice, toss, and serve.

