Creamy Rice Pudding

Rice Pudding is one of Allan’s favourite desserts, and this is a great way to use left over rice.  It is thick and creamy and with cinnamon and nutmeg it is a really comforting, warming dessert.

I skipped the raisins, as I have issues with them… Long story and not one I am ready to talk about. 🙂  I added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the rice pudding before serving, because really most things are better with nutmeg and cinnamon! 🙂

This is a really creamy pudding, and one which really benefits from a low cooking temperature to allow everything to just come together in harmony.  I have to confess that I added a little bit more sugar when I was eating my serving.

Thick and creamy and very comforting... Rice Pudding.

Thick and creamy and very comforting… Rice Pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

  • 3/4 cup uncooked white rice
  • 2 cups milk, divided
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2/3 cup golden raisins
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Bring 1 1/2 cups water to a boil in a saucepan; stir rice into boiling water. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.

In a clean saucepan, combine 1 1/2 cups cooked rice, 1 1/2 cups milk, sugar and salt. Cook over medium heat until thick and creamy, 15 to 20 minutes.

Stir in remaining 1/2 cup milk, beaten egg, and raisins; cook 2 minutes more, stirring constantly.

Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla.

