Mashed potatoes with baked eggs

Left over mashed potato.  A common thing on a Monday for me as I always make extra on a Sunday to make a quick supper the next evening, and this is the latest way I used some of those left over potatoes.

I think that egg yolk is one of the easiest, most delicious “sauces” around, and the baked eggs in the mashed potato “nests” took me back to when my grandmother would make us fried eggs with boiled potatoes for tea.

I have always loved the “crispy bits” on pies topped with potato so, for me, that is a great part of this dish.  I have to admit to adding a bit of butter on top before diving in…

Baked Eggs in Mashed Potato

Baked Eggs in Mashed Potato

Mashed potatoes with baked eggs

  • 3 cups mashed potatoes, heated through
  • 4 eggs
  • Coarse salt and cracked black pepper
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh herbs such as parsley, chives, oregano, or thyme

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Divide the mashed potatoes into four individual baking dishes. Make a deep well in the center of the mashed potatoes. Crack an egg directly into each well. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Sprinkle 1/4 of the cheese over each egg. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until eggs are done to your likeness.

Remove from oven, garnish with fresh herbs. Serve immediately.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/kathleen-daelemans/country-egg-city-egg-mashed-potato-baked-eggs-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

