Kettle Corn

Popcorn is one of my favourite snacks, and whenever Allan took me to the movies we always got the hugest bag, with butter.  When I made popcorn at home I usually made it plain then added salt to some for Allan and melted butter with sugar on some for me, but this is a great combination of salty and sweet all in one bowl.

The thing I like about making kettle corn as opposed to melting butter and adding sugar to pour over the popcorn is that each kernel is salty and sweet without being butter loaded.  It is still crispy and light and this is coming from someone who loves butter… in its place.  Kettle corn is just the right amount of sweet and salt and doesn’t feel like a guilty pleasure, despite the sugar.

I used white sugar this time, but plan on using brown sugar when I get some as I reckon that will make a great caramel flavour which will be even better!  According to the recipe, if you can get “mushroom” popcorn it will make even better kettle corn than regular popcorn kernels, but even with regular popcorn this is great.

Sweet and salty... kettle corn

Sweet and salty… kettle corn

Easy Kettle Corn Recipe

(http://savorysweetlife.com/2010/03/kettle-corn/)

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup popcorn kernels
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add popcorn and sugar giving it a quick stir and then cover with lid.

Once popcorn starts popping, pick it up and give it a quick shake every few seconds until popping slows down, between 3-4 minutes.

Remove immediately from heat and pour into a large bowl.  Sprinkle with salt and serve immediately.

Do not make the mistake of removing the pot from heat without transferring to a bowl. Due to the high heat of the pot, if you don’t transfer the popcorn it will burn. I know this for a fact as the first time I made it I answered the phone before transferring it and came back to a pot of black popcorn… 😦

