Stuffing Muffins

I love stuffing.  I mean, really love stuffing.  As in if I had to choose between pancakes or stuffing, I wouldn’t even have to pause to think.  I love stuffing THAT MUCH!

At Christmas my mom made the best stuffing, she knew we all loved it so she made so much that the huge turkey (we always seemed to have a turkey that was closer in size to a sheep that a chicken) was stuffed and the rest was cooked separately.  She used to have to watch us carefully once she cooked the bird, before dinner, to make sure that little fingers (and bigger fingers, Dad!) didn’t sneak it all away.

Then I became vegetarian and her stuffing with ground beef was no longer part of my life.  But I still craved stuffing, so now she made a bread stuffing just for me, though never enough… 🙂

Now, whenever I make “Sunday Dinner” I always make stuffing, with just bread and no meat, and I would be happy to have just a plate of it and nothing else… well, maybe not as creamy potatoes do go really well with stuffing.  Allan loves stuffing, too, though I am not sure that it is just as big an obsession as mine.

When I heard of this idea, I had no choice, and it was something I had to try immediately.  And the fact it makes 12 muffins and there are only two of us? Pfft.  No problem for serious stuffing lovers!!  These give a lovely crispy outside with a soft inside, stuffing perfection.

Let the muffins cool in the tin for a few minutes before trying to remove them, otherwise your muffins may well end up being just stuffing!

Stuffing Muffins!

Stuffing Muffins!

Stuffing Muffins

Adapted from a McCormick holiday recipe

Makes 12 muffins

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, plus more for greasing muffin tin
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon sage
  • 3/4 teaspoon garlic and onion  bread seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika (optional – but I like the kick it gives)
  • 6 cups dry unseasoned bread cubes – slightly stale bread is perfect
  • 2 cups vegetable stock

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Melt butter in a large skillet on medium heat. Sauté onion while stirring until opaque, approx. 5 minutes. Stir in seasoning.

Place bread cubes in a large bowl. Add onion mixture and broth; toss gently until well mixed. Spoon into generously greased muffin tins, pressing down so each cup is well-filled.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until heated through and lightly browned.

