Pear Cobbler

I make this as a comfort dessert one evening when Allan was away on a conference for a week.  I didn’t plan to eat almost half of it in one day, but somehow it just disappeared.  I think that Bob must have had some.  I hope Bob had some…

It was really easy to put together, and when I added the batter to the melted butter I was curious as to how it would turn out.  It looked a bit strange, melted butter around the edges of the batter with the pear halves embedded in the batter.

This gives a sweet biscuit topping on the fruit, and the juice makes a little sauce with the pears and butter.  It is good with some ice cream or cream. A very simple, good weekday dessert.  Not one I would use for company though, with tinned pears!

Pear Cobbler

Pear Cobbler

Pear Cobbler

  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • Choice of fruit (peaches or pears are great, canned or fresh)

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Put in a 9×13-inch pan and put pan in oven until butter melts.

Meanwhile, combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Gradually add milk and vanilla; mix well.  Add to baking pan.

Spread fruit over top. Use a little of the juice from the canned fruit. DO NOT STIR.

Bake 25-35 minutes. Very quick and very good!

