Beverly’s ‘Brown Bread’ Muffins

This recipe is one that I am ashamed to admit was given to me over a year ago by a friend and somehow got buried in the myriad of recipes I had lined up to try.  I found it when I was looking for recipes that would be good for a fundraising bake sale here and was really ashamed I hadn’t yet tried it.

It immediately got to the top of the list of recipes for the bake sale – with the proviso that a couple would fall off the plate before getting over to the bake sale…

The recipe gives a choice of using an egg or cornstarch, I chose the egg this time, but plan on trying it with the cornstarch soon, too.

The smell coming from the oven as these baked was amazing, it reminded me very much of my grandmother for some reason, even though I don’t think she ever made a muffin in her life.  They are not overly sweet and would be a great breakfast or brunch item.

"Brown Bread" Muffins

“Brown Bread” Muffins

Beverly’s ‘Brown Bread’ Muffins

  • 3/4 cup of quick oats
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp of molasses
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 2tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp of soda
  • 1 egg or 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup flour ( white or spelt)
  • 1/2 cup water for blending if needed

Place quick oats in medium size bowl and add hot water. Let sit till cool, then add lemon juice, molasses,brown sugar salt, oil then mix thoroughly. (Add egg here if using.)

Then mix flour, baking powder, soda and cornstarch (if not using egg).

Mix well and place in muffin pan.Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Makes about 6 large muffins or 12 small muffins.

Note: You can add raisins to half the batter if you like to make a sweet tea muffin

