Funnel Cake

There are many things that I have discovered food wise at fairs and summer events since moving to Canada, some I have tried and some I haven’t.  Elephant Ears, Beaver Tails, Corn Dogs and Funnel Cakes amongst other things are items I have seen at various summer events but have never tried.

Then I came across this recipe and it seemed to be fate! I was meant to try funnel cake, I just didn’t realise it!

How authentic this is, I don’t know.  How healthy, I do know, but I’m pretending not to for now.

I don’t know what I expected it to taste like, maybe I expected something crispy, but this is almost a doughnut, cakey in lots of ways; a long doughnut.  It took only as long in the oil as it took to pipe it from the bag (I used a freezer bag with the corner snipped off) and then just a moment or two longer to let the last few inches cook.  And as the oil was hot the cake came out grease free.  I did have problems in keeping the batter in one continuous flow, but I don’t think it mattered that it was broken in place.

I used granulated sugar as I didn’t have any confectioner’s sugar and it was good.  Not good for my waist line I am certain, but it was something I wanted to try and I am glad I did.  It was fun to make and tasted great.

Funnel Cake

Funnel Cake

Funnel Cake

  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

In a deep skillet, heat about two cups of oil over medium-high heat until hot. Test the temperature by dropping a pinch of flour into the hot oil. If it sizzles right away without smoking, it’s perfect.

Beat egg and milk. Mix all other ingredients in a separate bowl and slowly add to the egg mixture, beating until smooth.

Using a funnel, drop into hot oil working from center outwards in a web pattern. (You can use a gallon sized freezer bag instead of a funnel by pouring the batter into the bag, snipping off a small corner of it, and squeezing the batter into the oil.)

Cook for about 2-3 minutes, remove from the oil when golden brown and crispy.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve.

http://www.momswhothink.com/cake-recipes/funnel-cake-recipe.html

