Simple Barbecue Spare Ribs

Usually I cook ribs in the slow cooker, but when I am cooking more than will fit into my slow cooker I use the oven.  This isn’t my usual way to  cook them, but with twelve racks to cook I figured I would try a couple of different ways!

There were so many different views on whether the ribs should be boiled until tender before being oven roasted or not that I decided to try both, one boiling the ribs first and two without boiling them.

These are the ribs that were boiled until tender and then oven roast.

There were many good points against boiling them, the primary being that it would boil the flavour out of the ribs, but the fact it would make them tender convinced me to give it a try.  And fall off the bone tender they were once they were boiled, as I discovered when lifting them out of the pot to put into the oven.  Bob and Echo were happy about it though as the bones ended up coming their way.

I used my Simple Barbecue Sauce as I didn’t have time to make the Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce I prefer to use.  The proviso being that the simple barbecue sauce can’t be cooked for long periods or at high heat, but because these are in the oven at such a low temperature it was perfect for the hour and a bit that the ribs needed in the oven after being boiled.

The one main drawback for this method for me, was the smell.  Being a vegetarian married to a dedicated omnivore I am used to cooking meat, but the smell of the ribs boiling was hard to take and I was very glad to be able to get them into the oven.

That said, when they came out of the oven, after being roasted for over an hour coated in the barbecue sauce they were falling off the bone tender and flavourful.  I did ask Allan to describe them a bit more and he said, “They’re good!”.  He is going to compare the three versions and decide which is the best method to cook ribs in the oven.  I have a feeling that “They’re good!” might be the theme. 🙂  Bob and Echo were very impressed that the bones kept falling out.

Simple Oven Barbecue Spare Ribs

Simple Oven Barbecue Spare Ribs

Simple Barbecue Spare Ribs

  • 2 1/2 pounds country style pork ribs
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 cup barbeque sauce

Place ribs in a large pot with enough water to cover. Season with garlic powder, black pepper and salt. Bring water to a boil, and cook ribs until tender.

Preheat oven to 295 degrees F.

Remove ribs from pot, and place them in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Pour barbecue sauce over ribs. Cover dish with aluminium foil, and bake in the preheated oven for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, or until internal temperature of pork has reached 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).

