Pancakes a la iHop

I LOVE pancakes and I must have at least twenty different recipes for them, which I use regularly!  So, when I see the advertisements on TV for iHop I am seriously envious that we don’t have them here in Canada, or if we do I have never seen one.

A friend sent me this recipe.  I am not sure how close it is to the iHop pancake as I have never tasted them, but this is a really good recipe!

If you try these and you know iHop please let me know how close they are to the real thing.

These are really light, fluffy and almost cakey.  They are nicely sweet, so don’t need maple syrup.  Apple sauce seemed like the perfect topping this morning.

Pancakes a la iHop with Apple Sauce

Pancakes a la iHop with Apple Sauce

Pancakes a la iHop

  • Non stick spray
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Preheat skillet and spray with nonstick spray

Blend all other ingredients until smooth

Cook approximately 1/3 cup of batter for each pancake

Flip when bubbles start to burst

