Chocolate Bundt Cake One

There are several reasons I have entitled this post “Chocolate Bundt Cake One”.

The first will make one reader of this post smile.  Because the first reason is that I am planning a chocolate cake marathon.  And Allan, the person I hope smiled reading that reason, did say last evening, as he was eating the last bite of the Coca Cola Cake that I made for him last weekend, that it would probably be a good idea to make a few different cakes in close succession so that he could give a fair comparison of them to choose his favourite.  So, there will be several chocolate cakes produced over the next few weekends.  Just for scientific purposes you understand…

Chocolate Glaze over Chocolate Bundt Cake

Chocolate Glaze over Chocolate Bundt Cake

The second reason that this cake was numbered is that I actually started to make a different Chocolate Bundt Cake recipe and then discovered that the sour cream I thought I had in the fridge had been used for fajitas during the week.  Ack! Don’t you hate that?  I did go to the store (and by saying “the” store I am not using that as a general term, there is actually only one store within a two hour flight of our house), but they didn’t have any sour cream as the last three freight planes have been frozen out.  (It really is that cold right now).

So, thankfully, I found another recipe which sounded good and didn’t need sour cream.  Though it didn’t need the chocolate chips I had already tossed in flour to add to the last recipe… but they made their way into this recipe anyway.

And the third reason that the post is numbered is that I have never, until today, made a Bundt cake!! And I really wanted to.  I have had this recipe on my “must make before I die” list for over six years, which is why I have no idea where I got it, so I am sorry I can’t credit the recipe.  I had a Bundt cake tin in Northern Ireland, a lovely red one, but I didn’t get to use it as I bought it just before we were married planning to make a Bundt cake for Allan and his sons, but that didn’t happen for a myriad of reasons.  So, my beautiful red Bundt cake tin was in storage for five years.

It arrived in Canada the week before Allan got this job offer, and even though it was in the one and only box I got to open before realising I would be packing again and so there was no point in unpacking all I had time to do, because of the packing, was look longingly at it before putting it back into a box to go into storage for however long we are here.

It will be an antique by the time I get a chance to use it.  Poor thing, it is so pretty!

I was really happy when we got here to discover that there was not one, but two Bundt tins in the house.  No glassware at all, but two Bundt tins.

So, I have been planning my assault (please don’t let that be a literal use of the word, kitchen angels!) on the Bundt Cake world.

And this is it…

I had heard that it was hard to get the cakes out of the tins, so I made sure to butter and flour the tin carefully and gave it a good ten minutes to cool in the tin before attempting to turn it out.  Whether it was the butter and flour or beginner’s luck, I don’t know, but it came out of the tin without any problems

I used a chocolate glaze rather than an icing for the cake as I wanted it to drizzle down the sides and look glamourous.  It did, but it also drizzled over the plate and onto the counter.  But who cares?!  The cake looked as good as it tasted.

When I asked Allan if he preferred this to the Coca Cola Cake he said they were the same…  Which could have been because I was asking him as he tried to eat the first bite.  Maybe later he will be able to give a proper opinion.  He did say it was good, though, so that is all that matters.

Chocolate Bundt Cake

Chocolate Bundt Cake

The cake was moist with a nice crumb and the chocolate chips added a bit more decadence to an already rich cake.

Chocolate Bundt Cake

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan. Sift flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter, shortening, sugar, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Add flour mixture alternately with the milk. Mix well.
Pour into 10 inch Bundt pan. Bake at 325 F (165 degrees C) for 70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean. Let cool for 10 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.
