Mixed Berry Slump

A continuation in my obsession with “food with a funny name” series.

According to the Martha Stewart website:

“Cousin to the cobbler, a slump has dumplings on top instead of biscuits, as used in this easy berry dessert recipe.”

I didn’t know a cobbler had biscuit on top!! Heck, I made a slow cooker apple cobbler a while ago and I still didn’t know that!! Though it was a cheat in a lot of ways as it used a boxed cake mix and was made it in the slow cooker, so now I have to make a cobbler the traditional way soon just to see!  What a terrible chore…

But for now I settled for this Mixed Berry Slump, and it was not settling at all.  This is a really great dessert, and I will definitely be making this again soon.

The recipe says that you get six “dumplings”, I got seven.  This took such a short time that it surprised me, I knew it would be quick, but from the minute I decided to make it until I was setting the timer for the dumplings to simmer took less time than the ten minutes to cook them.

The dumplings/biscuits were really light and fluffy, just like little clouds.  More like little cakes than what I think of as dumplings or biscuits.

Slumps, I have decided, should be eaten everywhere, and often!

Mixed Berry Slump

Mixed Berry Slump

Mixed Berry Slump

  • 7 1/2 ounces blueberries (1 1/2 cups)
  • 6 ounces raspberries or blackberries (1 1/2 cups)
  • 12 strawberries, hulled, and halved or quartered if large (1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, split and scraped, pod reserved
  • Salt
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk

Bring berries, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup water, the vanilla seeds and pod, and a pinch of salt to a simmer in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook, covered, for 5 minutes. Whisk together cornstarch and remaining tablespoon water; add to berries. Simmer for 1 minute.

Let stand while making dough.

Mix together remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, the flour, baking soda, grated nutmeg, and 1/8 teaspoon salt. Rub in butter using your fingers until very small pieces remain.

Stir in buttermilk until dough forms.

Return berry mixture to a gentle simmer over low heat, and add 6 mounds of dough. Cook dumplings, covered, until cooked through, about 10 minutes. Remove pod.

http://www.marthastewart.com/314519/mixed-berry-slump?czone=food/produce-guide-cnt/summer-produce-recipes&czone=food/produce-guide-cnt/summer-produce-recipes&czone=food/produce-guide-cnt/summer-produce-recipes&center=276955&gallery=275045&slide=284522

