Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

I love Sloppy Joes. It goes back to when my sister and I were kids and came to visit Canada and we thought Sloppy Joes were the most exotic thing.

This is my vegetarian version of Sloppy Joes.  When I make these I use whichever BBQ sauce I made most recently and have in the fridge, and that changes up the flavour.  This particular one was with the Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce.

I make it with ground beef for Allan whenever he wants Sloppy Joes, which isn’t all that often as he prefers burgers. 🙂

This recipe is really easy to throw together, and takes very little time, and is exceptionally simple with store cupboard items, which means there is no need really ever to resort to the packages of seasoning, especially as this is so flavourful.

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes with TVP

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1/2 pepper, chopped
1/2 Tbsp. chili powder
4 oz. tomato sauce
1/4 cup BBQ sauce
2 Tbsp. ketchup
2 tsp. mustard
3/4 cup TVP
3/4 cup boiling water
Salt & pepper to taste

Sauté onion and pepper in oil for approx. 5 minutes.

Add all other ingredients. Simmer for about 20 minutes. (TVP will absorb the water and soak up the flavour of the sauce.)

Serve on buns, as you would traditional sloppy joes. Makes approx. 4 servings

