Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Allan loves macaroni and cheese. Me? Not so much, it was never something that featured when I was a child and it seems that is when the KD/Mac and Cheese gene develops.

I made KD for the first time about a week ago, before that Allan had made it for me once, but I decided that it was time to find a proper recipe that made something we both could enjoy.

This was my first attempt.  I chose it as it was literally a “throw everything together and let the oven do the magic” recipe and I had to see if it worked.

And whaddya know?  The magic happened! I guess that Mac ‘n Cheese really is the food of the gods as Allan claims.

I added some parmesan to the buttered breadcrumbs which gave it a nice cheesey crunch.

I do plan on trying a few other recipes to find “my” perfect Macaroni and Cheese, but as a start this was really good!  I would like a little more cheese sauce so when I make it again, and I will, I will up add about 1/2 cup more milk.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

(http://www.cookingnook.com/best-baked-macaroni-cheese-recipe.html)

1 – 8 ounce package of macaroni
1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese – I added some parmesan also
2 tablespoons flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons butter
1 3/4 cups milk
2/3 cup soft buttered crumbs*

Preheat oven to 350°.

Cook macaroni in salted boiling water until almost soft (al dente). Drain well.

Grease a large shallow casserole and place a layer of macaroni on the bottom, sprinkle with cheese, butter, flour and seasonings. Continue to layer until all ingredients are used evenly in the layers. (3 layers works well)

Pour milk over all. Top with buttered bread crumbs.

Bake at 350° for 40 minutes.

Serves 6 to 8.

To make buttered crumbs:
Combine 2/3 cup of bread crumbs with 2 tablespoons of softened butter and mix.

