Potato, cheese and onion soup

This could also be called, “Surprise! Soup!” or “Oops I think I added too much milk when reheating the left over potatoes…” but neither of them sound quite right.

Though they are both accurate.

I was planning on reheating some left over creamed potatoes to go with the Chicken Divan Pot Pie I made for supper last evening, but I was distracted and added too much milk to the pot that I was reheating the creamed potatoes in and ended up with a creamy potato soup.

A happy accident, really. To make it more of a deliberate meal I sautéed some sliced onions and added them to the pot with a splash of water to make it the right consistency, some seasoning and a generous topping of grated cheese to make a soup version of twice baked potatoes.

It was a really great, filling soup, perfect for a cold evening.

Surprise! It's soup!

Surprise! It’s soup!

Potato,cheese and onion soup

  • Creamed potatoes (any amount depending on how much soup you want)
  • Milk (enough to make a thick soup)
  • Water (to make soup the consistency you want)
  • Sautéed sliced onions (I used two large onions)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Pinch nutmeg
  • Parsley flakes (fresh would be better)
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic

Heat milk in pot, add creamed potatoes.

Add onions and other ingredients, then season to taste.

Serve with grated cheese and a confident “I made this on purpose” smile!

