“Off with their heads!” Jam Tarts

One of the things I am looking forward to when we move South next time is having an Alice in Wonderland themed tea party. Despite being well over the age of 21 I have spent more time than I probably should have coming up with a menu and decoration ideas and activities.

And when we move back South I intend to invite Allan’s oldest friends who I think would enjoy the whimsy of a themed tea party to join us in celebrating one of my favourite childhood books.

Part of the menu will, of course, be jam tarts. And being in the mood to play with the latest pastry recipe I have been using I decided this morning to cheer up a cold morning (minus 45 with wind chill is cold, as far as I am concerned!) with some little jam tarts.

I decided to make them enclosed, so that the jam could be a little hidden jewel.  And because you have to bite into them to discover the jam, they are “Off with their heads!” jam tarts.  Just remember that if you don’t let them cool, the hot jam will transform them into “Off with the roof of your mouth!” jam tarts.

Individual Jam Tarts

Individual Jam Tarts

Roll out pastry as thinly as you can into a eight inch circle.  Cut circle into quarters.

Place approx 1/2 teaspoon of jam in the centre of each triangle then fold to enclose jam and form a square.

Bake at 375 degrees for approx 16 minutes or until pastry is golden.

 

