Oatmeal Cookies

Now that we are back to working in the North, or at least Allan is working while I spend my days fulfilling my childhood dream of writing (and cooking!), I am also back to the thrift of not wanting to waste any food at all.  Everything up here is very expensive, so I do my best to cook only what will be eaten and to use up leftovers in a creative and tasty way.

I thought I was beat this morning, though.

I made oatmeal for Allan’s breakfast and there was a lot left over.  And there was no way I could possibly use it.

Or was there?!

Allan does love oatmeal cookie…

So this is what I came up with.  It is nothing wildly original, being based on a thousand cookie recipes, but it used up the leftover oatmeal in a delicious way so it makes me happy!

These are more “cakey” than traditional oatmeal cookies as the oatmeal is precooked but they are a good way of taking your breakfast to go.

Breakfast to go or oatmeal cookies.

Breakfast to go or oatmeal cookies.

I am a fiend when it comes to baking in insisting that all dry ingredients go through a sieve, but I am also blonde, so when I was packing the house contents to go into storage I didn’t consider what I needed to bring up here so I am sieve-less.  But whisking the dry ingredients is equally good at getting rid of any lumps and getting air into them so that is a way out of sieving.  Usually, I prefer to do both but one is plenty.

If you try this you might think that the mixture seems a little dry when the butter and eggs are creamed in, but there is wet oatmeal coming, so don’t worry.

Also, I didn’t grease my tin after saying I should, and they didn’t stick so it is up to you whether you grease or not.

And on an useless side note; the time between putting the cookies into the oven and taking them out again is the exact time needed to put on snow boots and a coat, try unsuccessfully to start a frozen truck and come in again before you decide to kick it!  Whodathunkit?!

Oatmeal Cookies (from leftovers but don’t tell anyone…)

2 cups sifted flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup of softened butter
2 eggs
2 cups cooked oatmeal

Sift dry ingredients together.

Add butter and eggs and beat until creamy (about 2 minutes).

Stir in oatmeal.

Drop from teaspoon onto greased baking sheets.

Bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

Makes approx 36 cookies.

