Pie Crust

I have a confession.

I am not in a committed relationship.  Not even slightly.

I am still trying to find that perfect one.

“My” pie crust recipe.

It evades me.  I find many that are good, great even, but none that I am prepared to forsake all others for.  I know that “my” recipe, the perfect one is out there, just waiting for me to find it.  I might rave about the latest recipe, and I do, but I have yet to find “my” recipe.

I “date”, search online for new pie crust recipes, hang out in the kitchen with them even have dinner with them.  But I just can’t seem to commit to just one.

I think it is my grandmother’s fault.  Actually, I know it is her fault!

She made a great pie crust.  And she didn’t share the recipe.

This is the latest in my search. And something about it feels like my Nannie’s.

Though, of course, when it called for shortening my eyes read “butter” because I always think butter is better.  And though it didn’t ask for time to chill in the fridge I gave it some.

Just to let us get to know each other a bit better.

And also because as far as I am concerned things can never be too chilled out in a relationship with pastry.  Which is why I always use ice water and butter just out of the fridge.  However, I am not a fan of the whole cutting the butter into the flour thing, too fussy for me.  I dice the butter, cold from the fridge into pieces about half the size of a dice, it might seem like a nuisance but when rubbing it in to get to the coarse breadcrumb stage it really helps if the butter is already small so your fingertips are not in contact with the pastry for too long.

If you want to go a stage further and chill your bowl before you start that would be a great idea.  I am not that organised and barely manage to preheat the oven…

When you are mixing the wet ingredients into the dry bear in mind that, as with muffins, it is all too easy to over mix so just combine them, then wrap the bowl in cling film and let it chill in the fridge before rolling.  It takes a little time but it is so worth it and it gives you time to start the dishes!

This is a great recipe, and has been great in both sweet pies, Peaches and Cream Pie, and in savoury pies, Chicken Divan Pie, so it may well be that this turns out to be the one… let’s see.

ETA: I kept some of this in the fridge for two days purposefully to find out how it dealt with it.  And… I think I might have found my one!

Pie crust ready to be filled and baked!

Pie crust ready to be filled and baked!

Pie Crust

(http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Never-Fail-Pie-Crust-I/)

Recipe makes 2 crusts

  •  3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 ½ cups shortening (I use butter…)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 5 1/2 tablespoons cold water

Whisk together the flour and salt.

Blend in the shortening (BUTTER!) until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs.

Mix together the egg, water and vinegar.  Pour into flour mixture and combine.

Roll dough between wax paper.   No extra flour is needed if wax paper is used.

Used as directed in recipe or as desired.

