Peaches and Cream Pie

I have no recollection where I found this recipe, which means I can’t credit it.  That is not good.  Sorry.

However, I had to share it as I was so pleased at how it came out.  I did make a few changes… basically there was no way I could get fresh peaches up here, so I used tinned.    And then because it was so long since I had bought tinned peaches I hadn’t realised that there are only four halves in a tin (nope, I hadn’t thought it through when I bought the tin by looking at the size).  So I added a tin of pears as well so my Peaches and Cream Pie is actually a Peaches, Pears and Cream Pie.  And I added some nutmeg and cinnamon to the cream mixture.  Just because.

I used the pie crust I had found a few days ago and have been trying out and the texture was just right for this home-style pie.  It was flaky yet held its shape perfectly.  It was a good crust without getting soggy at all.

The recipe for the crust will be posted in the next day or two and linked back to here.

You do have to wait for the pie to cool before cutting it otherwise the filling will crack slightly.  Not that I know this from impatient, personal experience or anything; it is just an educated guess…

Peaches and Cream Pie - with some pears because I didn't have enough peaches...

Peaches and Cream Pie – with some pears because I didn’t have enough peaches…

Peaches and Cream Pie

  • Pie crust
  • 6 to 7 peaches, peeled, pitted, and halved
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup heavy cream or sour cream

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Prepare pie pastry.

Place peach halves tightly together in one layer into the pastry-lined plate.

In a medium bowl, beat eggs with a whisk. Add sugar and heavy cream or sour cream; whisk until thoroughly blended.

Pour mixture over peaches and bake 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 degrees and continue to bake for 35 minutes or until filling is set. Remove from oven and serve slightly warm or at room temperature.

Makes 8 to 10 servings.

Just out of the oven...

Just out of the oven…

