Honey Cornmeal Muffins

One of the ingredients I have been meaning to use for what seems like years, but somehow never got around to, is cornmeal.

It is something that wasn’t common where I grew up so it has an aura of exotica to it.  I know that most people will wonder how in the world that could be, but it wasn’t something my mom or grandmother ever used, so I never did either.

But when we moved up North again I packed two large packs of it and this was my first attempt at anything using cornmeal.

The reason that the solitary picture is so bad is that the muffins were so good that they didn’t last long enough for a good set of photos… which is not a bad thing, really!

Honey Cornmeal Muffins

Honey Cornmeal Muffins

I would say that unless the muffin cups I used were tiny, which I don’t think they were, this makes more than 12.  I got 18 muffins from the batter.

As always with muffins, don’t mix the dry and wet ingredients together, fold them gently in and do not over mix.

Honey Cornmeal Muffins

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
  • ¼  cup honey

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Into a large bowl, mix the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. In another bowl, whisk together the whole milk, eggs, butter, and honey. Add the wet to the dry ingredients and stir until just mixed.

Place muffin paper liners in a 12-cup muffin tin. Evenly divide the cornbread mixture into the papers. Bake for 15 minutes, until golden.

Recipe: The Food Network

