Granola

There are many things I have discovered about myself since moving to Canada.

I will never have the right ingredients, even if I plan ahead as something always happens, but I am okay with that.

I am actually okay with that.

In the past I would have gone stark staring crazy! But now… I don’t even shrug, I just look for something to substitute and move on.

(It was pointed out to me that this sounds as though Canada doesn’t have a good range of ingredients.  That was not my meaning at all.  I meant to say that prior to moving to Canada I would have freaked out and gone to the store to pick up a missing item, but since living in the far North where there just weren’t the things we needed I have learnt to chill out and make substitutions and have fun with that process.  So, despite now living minutes from several huge supermarkets, I continue to make substitutions and have fun with the outcome.  I would never in any way denigrate the country I have chosen to live in and adopt as my own. I apologise to anyone who was offended by my gauche wording.)

And I am actually a decent cook.

Not a chef, not brilliant, but decent.

And I am okay with that too.

Perfection was always my goal, but that was before I became as happy as I am now.

This recipe looked and sounded perfect.  And I am certain that it is, because even with my substitutions it is amazing.

I had no walnuts but I did have almonds.  And I didn’t have wheat germ, because where in the heck does it hide??  I bought it, I put it in the cupboard, but could I find it when I needed it??!  But I did have old fashioned scotch oats.

The smell coming from the oven as it baked was so good I was tempted to taste test every time I mixed it.  Who am I trying to kid? I was tempted and gave into the temptation.

It got better the longer it was baking.

I used it in a breakfast parfait with yoghurt covered blueberries.

Perfection on a spoon!

Granola roasting… the aroma was driving me crazy!

Homemade Granola Recipe

  • 6 Cups Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 2 Cups Wheat Germ
  • 1 Cup Chopped Walnuts
  • 1 Cup Rice Crispies
  • ½ Cup Shredded Sweetened Coconut
  • ½ Stick Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Honey
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Vanilla
  • Pinch of Salt

Combine dry ingredients in large bowl.  Mix well.

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Melt butter in saucepan on low heat.  Add honey and brown sugar.  Bring to simmer.  Stir until smooth.

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

Pour over dry mixture and mix together.

Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper and spread mixture evenly.

Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

http://www.therealistichousewife.com/homemade-granola-recipe-with-yogurt-covered-blueberries/

