Roast Broccoli

I happen to love broccoli.

My whole family do.  In fact, when my nephew and eldest niece were a lot younger, at family dinners, the broccoli had to be be served as a second course, after the meat and potatoes part as otherwise they would gorge themselves on the broccoli and eat nothing else.

And that was just plain boiled broccoli.

Then they got to about 5 years old and all things vegetable became evil.

But I wonder if they had tasted  this broccoli might their obsession with “little green trees”  have continued.

I could go into details about their distaste for vegetables, but one involves the time that my nephew decided to eat the six pieces of carrot his mom insisted he eat at dinner all at the start to get it over with and gobbled them down only to sit in shock looking at his plate after they came straight back up.  Thankfully my sister is a good mom and had the plate whipped away and replaced with another before he was able to figure out what the heck had just happened.

And you don’t want to hear about that kind of thing, so I won’t write about them.

Or is it too late?  Did I just do it?

Oops.

But putting all that aside, this is seriously one of the best way I have ever eaten broccoli, and there is nothing that I haven’t added broccoli to.

The recipe is from Ina Garten.   Which in my opinion, is one of the ways to ensure culinary perfection.

I cut back on the amount as it was just for the two of us, but I wonder if leftovers would make a really special broccoli soup.  I have to try that someday…

The lemon adds the most amazing dimension to the crispy florets and went really well with the potato wedges and salad it was served with. I added some lemon to the potatoes to link it all together and it was just amazing.

Now, I must warn you that you really do need to watch this in the  oven. It goes from not done to burnt in almost one second.  I learnt that the hard way, which is why my picture shows broccoli that was about .35 seconds too long in the oven…

Also, it is vital that the broccoli is dry.  As in, if you wash it do that several hours in advance and make sure to get all the water off the florets.  I read somewhere that it can be left unwashed as the high heat kills anything that you would have washed away.  I leave that choice to you, but whatever you decide make sure that the broccoli is dry!

It still tasted great and is definitely something I will be making again often!

Roast Broccoli

Ina Garten’s Roast Broccoli

  • 4 to 5 pounds broccoli
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled and thinly sliced
  • Good olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons julienned fresh basil leaves (about 12 leaves)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Cut the broccoli florets from the thick stalks, leaving an inch or two of stalk attached to the florets, discarding the rest of the stalks. Cut the larger pieces through the base of the head with a small knife, pulling the florets apart. You should have about 8 cups of florets. Place the broccoli florets on a sheet pan large enough to hold them in a single layer. Toss the garlic on the broccoli and drizzle with 5 tablespoons olive oil. Sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Roast for 20 to 25 minutes, until crisp-tender and the tips of some of the florets are browned.

Remove the broccoli from the oven and immediately toss with 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, the lemon zest, lemon juice, pine nuts, Parmesan, and basil. Serve hot.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/parmesan-roasted-broccoli-recipe/index.html

